Carte Blanche 2018

Henri-François Debailleux

 

Henri-François Debailleux, invited art critic, offers during the fair his Carte Blanche:

 

“Like a wink, I reproduce with this Carte Blanche the very principle of the fair which consists in exposing galleries. I therefore choose to invite 4 galleries that will exhibit their artists. “

Henri-François Debailleux

 

 

Gallery Anne-Sarah Bénichou

Vue d’exposition « Partition du silence ».
© Galerie Anne-Sarah Bénichou, Paris, France, 2016.

Gallery Thomas Bernard

Franck Eon, “Rumms”, 2017. Peinture à l’huile et acrylique sur toile, 180x180cm.
© Rebecca Fanuele.
Gallery Bertrand Grimont

Exposition de Lukas Hoffmann, Nov-déc 2017.
© Photo A. Mole.
Gallery RX

Georges Rousse, Dream, 2017. C-Print contrecollé sur Dibon cadre noir, 180×240 cm. Edition unique.
© Adagp, Galerie RX, Paris, 2018.

 

Henri-François Debailleux is a journalist and art critic. He worked for the newspaper Libération for more than 30 years and now works for the Journal des Arts. At the same time, he has also collaborated with Beaux-Arts Magazine, New Art International, Art Press and currently at L’Oeil and ArtAbsolument.

He is the author of numerous prefaces of exhibition catalogs (texts or interviews); curator (Lee Bae at the Museum of Modern Art of Saint Etienne September-November 2011 and Guimet Museum, September 2015-April 2016 Philippe Favier at the MEP, European House of Photography in April-June 2013 Marlène Mocquet at the Maison des Arts in Malakoff, September-October 2013, Fabien Verschaere at the Museum of Modern Art in Saint-Etienne in spring 2014); and member of different jury and committees (Colas Foundation, MEP, etc. and he was part of the FNAC buying commission).

He also teaches at ICART (Higher Institute of Artistic Careers) where he gives several courses especially on the art market, on gallery owners, on art criticism, on cultural engineering.

 

 

 

Carte Blanche 2017

Damien Cabanes

“The work of Damien Cabanes is a dense, concrete œuvre that gives shape to life’s small manifestations”.
Olivier Kaeppelin, Exhibition Catalogue

In his sculptures, the artist’s strength to bring out shapes and vibrations is just as evident. The tortillons, for example, are simple plates of clay painted and then twisted in the artist’s two hands. From a repetitive gesture rose an infinity of shapes.

The “variation on the same theme” lies at the heart of the creative principle of Damien Cabanes, like a musician who has found the instrument, the main melody and the “colours” of the atmosphere he wishes to evoke. It would then simply remain to explore again and again the infinite possibilities offered by his power of concentration and imagination before the material, the better to express its reality.

“His paintings, his sculptures, his installations need to know, at the most authentic level, from what the real is made.”
O. Kaeppelin, id.

Carte Blanche 2018

Henri-François Debailleux

 

Henri-François Debailleux, critique d’art invité, propose pendant la foire sa Carte Blanche :

« Comme un clin d’oeil, je reproduis avec cette Carte Blanche le principe même de la foire qui consiste à exposer des galeries. Je choisis donc d’inviter 4 galeries qui exposeront leurs artistes.»

Henri-François Debailleux

 

Henri-François Debailleux est journaliste et critique d’art. Il a travaillé pour le quotidien Libération pendant plus de 30 ans et travaille aujourd’hui pour le Journal des Arts. Parallèlement, il a aussi collaboré à Beaux-Arts Magazine, New Art International, Art Press et actuellement à l’Oeil et à ArtAbsolument.

Il est également l’auteur de nombreuses préfaces de catalogues d’expositions (textes ou interviews) ; commissaire d’expositions (Lee Bae au Musée d’Art Moderne de Saint Etienne septembre- novembre 2011 et au Musée Guimet, septembre 2015-avril 2016 ; Philippe Favier à la MEP, Maison Européenne de la photographie en avril-juin 2013 ; Marlène Mocquet à la Maison des Arts de Malakoff, septembre-octobre 2013 ; Fabien Verschaere au Musée d’Art Moderne de Saint-Etienne au printemps 2014) ; et membre de différents jury et comités (Fondation Colas, MEP, etc et il a notamment fait partie de la commission d’achat du FNAC) .

Il enseigne aussi à l’ICART (Institut Supérieur des Carrières Artistiques) où il donne plusieurs cours notamment sur le marché de l’art, sur les galeristes, sur la critique d’art, sur l’ingénierie culturelle, sur les différents métiers liés au milieu de l’art.

 

 

Carte Blanche 2017

Damien Cabanes

 

« L’œuvre de Damien Cabanes est une œuvre concrète et dense donnant forme aux petites manifestations de la vie ».
Olivier Kaeppelin, catalogue de l’exposition

Dans ses sculptures, le pouvoir de l’artiste à faire émerger formes et vibrations est tout aussi évident. Les « tortillons » par exemple sont de simples plaques d’argile peintes puis mises en torsion par les deux mains de l’artiste. D’un geste répété naissent une infinité de formes.

La « variation sur un même thème » est au cœur du principe créateur de Damien Cabanes tel un musicien ayant trouvé l’instrument, la mélodie principale et les « couleurs » de l’univers à évoquer. Resterait alors à explorer encore et encore l’infinité des possibilités offertes par sa force de concentration et d’imagination face à la matière, pour mieux en exprimer la réalité.

« Ses peintures, ses sculptures, ses installations ont besoin de savoir, au plus authentique, de quoi le réel est fait.  »
O. Kaeppelin, id.